Hanover Law, P.C. Hablamos Español
Contact Us!
1-800-579-9864
Email Us

Social Networks:

Gun Laws In Maryland


Who Can Purchase A Firearm?

Individuals over 21 years of age who have handgun qualification licenses can purchase handguns. The handgun qualification license expires after 10 years.

How Do I Qualify For A Handgun Qualifications License?

In order to quality for a handgun license in Maryland, an individual must be a resident of the state. In the last three years, he or she must have completed a firearms safety training course. The course must include a minimum of 4 hours of instruction by a qualified handgun instructor, as well as classroom instruction on state firearm law, firearm safety, and handgun mechanism and operations (MD code §5-117.1).

Do I Need a Permit To Carry a Handgun?

In order to wear, carry, or transport a handgun, an individual must obtain a permit from the state of Maryland (MD code §5-303).

How Can I Qualify For a Permit?

An individual must complete 16 hours of instruction by a qualified handgun instructor, classroom instruction on state law, home firearm safety, and handgun mechanisms and operations. The individual must also demonstrate proficiency at the use of a firearm. He or she must not indicate any propensity to violence or instability, and must also have a good substantial reason to wear or carry a gun (MD code §5-306).

I've Been Convicted Of a Crime, Can I Still Get A Permit?

An individual who has ever been convicted of a felony, or a misdemeanor that resulted in a prison sentence of more then one year cannot receive a permit. Having been convicted of a crime involving possession or use of a dangerous substance, and/or addiction to either a dangerous, controlled substance or alcohol, also prohibits an individual from qualifying for a permit. Individuals who have a protective order issued against them by a court in any state or by a Native American Tribe are unable to get a permit (MD code §5-306).

Are There Limits To When I Can Have My Gun?

It is illegal to carry, wear, or transport a gun while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Doing so will result in a misdemeanor and a prison sentence of not more then one year, and a fine of up to $1,000 (MD code § 5-314).

For more information, see Maryland Code §5-101- §5-406.
Facing Criminal Charges? Contact us!

Testimonials